A new feature has been added to the Business Central administration portal that allows you to restore an environment from a backup, for those times when its all gone wrong and you need to turn back time.
This is more for a Disaster Recovery scenario than a “I posted a journal wrong and want to go to a backup from 5 minutes ago” as you can see from the list of things to know and caveats you have to line your ducks up. However, still a good thing to have for those times you really need it.
Things to Know
It is important to note that this is a restore of an environment and not an individual company so its more akin to restoring an entire Business Central server, in on premise terms, that is ALL of your companies if you have more than one.
Each environment can be restored up to 10 times in a calendar month.
It is not possible to restore an environment that was previously deleted, if you have done this then Microsoft need to be contacted.
An environment can only be restored within the same Azure region and country (Business Central localization) as the original environment.
A production (live) environment can be restored to either a Production or Sandbox (test) type environment. A sandbox environment can only be restored a Sandbox type environment.
When restoring a sandbox environment, all development extensions (that is, extensions published directly from Visual Studio Code) won’t be available in the restored environment—even if they were present at the point-in-time you’re restoring to). Additionally, any per-tenant extensions that depend on such development extensions will also not be available.
Per-tenant extensions you may have uploaded that target the next version of the Business Central won’t be available in the restored environment—even if they were uploaded at the point-in-time you’re restoring to. Per-tenant extensions that were already installed will be available in the restored environment.
Every AppSource and Business Central app in the restored environment will have the latest available hotfix installed automatically—even if the hotfix was introduced after the point-in-time you are restoring to.
Before You Restore An Environment
Here are a few important things to do when you are planning to restore an environment:
Make sure you communicate the plan to restore an environment within your organization upfront, in good time.
Typically, you want to stop users and external integrations from using the environment during restoration. Consider doing the following actions in the environment you are planning to restore:
- Remove access to the environment for non-essential users, but make sure required users, like administrators, keep access.
- Put all job queues to on hold.
- Consider renaming the environment. The users and external integrations won’t be able to access it by its old name.
When restoring an environment, you will create a new environment that the database backup will be restored to. You cannot use the same name for two environments of the same customer. So, if you want the restored environment to have the same name as the original environment, rename the original environment before you run the restore operation. For example, you could change the name to include DONOTUSE.
If you have any questions about this or need assistance then please contact the GCC Group Support Team on 0345 260 1141 or firstname.lastname@example.org